« Benefits for teachers | Main | Accreditation and visas »

Encouraging professional development

August 17, 2007

Hello again,

Individual schools often lack the financial means to support teachers in their efforts to develop their careers. However, scholarships...

...are available for this purpose from such organisations as IATEFL and TESOL.

IATEFL has the following awards:

The Gill Sturtridge First-Time Speaker Fund
Conference scholarship for first time presenter

W R Lee Fund
Conference scholarship for teachers from Central and Eastern Europe

Ray Tongue Fund
Conference scholarship for teachers from East and South East Asia

The Gillian Porter Ladousse Conference Fund
Conference scholarship for a teacher trainer and/or trainee

The Frank Bell IATEFL Scholarship
A new scholarship for a new teacher to attend conference for the first time

The LT SIG Travel Grant
A travel fund to assist Learning Technologies SIG members in attending the conference

The IATEFL Africa Scholarship
The scholarship is for a teacher or teacher trainer in Africa to attend conference.

More information from: http://www.iatefl.org/content/scholarships/index.php/.

Here is list of some of the awards available from TESOL with the descriptions provided on the TESOL website:

• The Albert H. Marckwardt Travel Grants
Graduate student TESOL members in TESL/TEFL programs worldwide are eligible for this award, which helps to fund graduate students traveling to a TESOL convention.
• TESOL Award for an Outstanding Paper on NNEST Issues
TESOL members who have had a proposal accepted for presentation (paper or colloquium) on NNEST issues at the annual TESOL convention are eligible to apply. Both native and nonnative speakers of English may apply. This award recognizes scholarship on NNEST issues and is sponsored by East Carolina University.
• The Mary Finocchiaro Award for Excellence in the Development of Pedagogical Materials
Any TESOL member is eligible to apply. This award recognizes a TESOL member(s) who has achieved excellence through the development of practical pedagogical materials not currently under consideration for publication.
• The Ruth Crymes TESOL Academies Fellowships
Any TESOL member who is a classroom teacher or teacher trainer/supervisor is eligible to apply. This award supports teachers who wish to attend a TESOL Academy.
• The Ruth Crymes TESOL Fellowship for Graduate Study
TESOL members who are or have been enrolled within the past year in a TESOL or TEFL graduate program that prepares teachers to teach ESOL are eligible for this award. The Ruth Crymes TESOL Fellowship for Graduate Study supports recent or current graduate students in the development of projects with direct application to ESOL language classroom instruction.
• TESOL Awards for International Participation at TESOL
TESOL members who (a) are from a country outside the US or Canada, (b) have had a proposal accepted for the 42nd Annual TESOL Convention in 2008, and (c) will be presenting for the first time at the annual convention are eligible to apply. TESOL members currently living in the US or Canada are not eligible. Preference will be given to applicants from countries underrepresented at TESOL conventions. The award is sponsored by the TOEFL Board of ETS.
• TESOL Award for Teacher as Classroom Action Researcher
Any instructor who is a TESOL member, who has at least 5 years of English language teaching experience, and who has completed a significant classroom action research project is eligible to apply. This award recognizes excellence in action research on English language teaching and learning in an ESL/EFL classroom. The award is sponsored by the College Board.
• TESOL Award for Dedication to Community College ESL Teaching
The award is given to an outstanding community college instructor who has demonstrated a commitment to teaching ESL to facilitate his/her attendance at the TESOL annual convention. This award is supported by Thomson Heinle.
• The TESOL Professional Development Scholarships
All current TESOL members are eligible to apply. These scholarships assist in the professional development of TESOL members by facilitating attendance at the annual convention. Recipients may also choose to attend a pre- or postconvention institute (PCI) in addition to the convention.
• TESOL Award for Distinguished Research
Any TESOL member who has completed an empirical research project and a subsequent scholarly paper that will be published in 2007 in TESOL Quarterly or another scholarly journal is eligible to apply. This award recognizes excellence in any area of research on language teaching and learning. The award is sponsored by Thomson Heinle Publishers.
• The TESOL/TEFL Travel Grant
TESOL members who are currently practicing EFL teachers, teacher trainers, or supervisors with at least 5 years of experience in a non-English-speaking setting are eligible to apply. This award helps EFL professionals attend a TESOL convention, and preference will be given to applicants who have never attended one.

Further details from:http://www.tesol.org/s_tesol/seccss.asp?CID=125&DID=1595/.

Trackback Pings

TrackBack URL for this entry:


Post a Comment



Remember Me?

(you may use HTML tags for style)